Practical SBS

Practical Advice for Small Business Server Administrators


OneDrive: Throttling Upload Speed

If you are on a relatively slow internet connection, it can be frustrating when Microsoft OneDrive takes up the majority of the bandwidth when it is syncing to the cloud. During the upload process, even basic web surfing can be almost impossible.

Sadly, the OneDrive app itself doesn’t contain any settings to limit the upload speed, but it is possible to address this issue via group policy on the local machine.

To begin, you will need to logon to your workstation with an administrator account.

image
Fire up the local Group Policy Editor: Windows Start => Search Box => gpedit.msc (hit “Return” on the keyboard)
image
Within the Policy Editor main window, navigate to: User Configuration => Windows Settings => Policy Based QoS. From the “Action Menu” => “Create a new policy”.
Complete the wizard using the input I have set out below.
image
Policy Name: OneDrive
Deselect the “DSCP” Option
Specify an “Outbound Throttle Rate”. In my example, 10 Kbps is rather extreme (but it is useful for testing the settings are working). At this data rate, a 20Mb file should take around 30 minutes to upload.
OneDrive 002
Ensure that “Only applications with the executable name” is checked. The value should be set to “onedrive.exe” (for all users) or “C:\Users\yourusername\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\onedrive.exe” (for a specific user).
image
“Any IP Address” is fine for both options.
image
“Any Port” is fine for both options. Click “Finish” when you are done.

You may need to wait a few minutes for the policy to take effect (a reboot may be required).

These instructions can be adapted for any program that you discover is using too much in the way of bandwidth. Unfortunately, it only applies when “uploading” data (not downloading).



15 responses to “OneDrive: Throttling Upload Speed”

  1. Thank you so much! My computer was slowing down to a crawl & I noticed it was because of OneDrive, but I didn’t want to stop using it. Perfect solution.

  2. This Tool is only featured on Pro oder Enterprise Versions of Windows. There is no such tool on normal Windows 7 oder 8 so this solution does not work for everybody.

    1. Thank you for the clarification. Kind regards, Stephen

  3. Awesome post. Going to reference folks to it. Good example of intelligent use of QoS at the client.

  4. On my computer, it’s “OneDrive.exe” instead of Skydrive, but I know it was Skydrive at one time. It would be good to update it and tell users how to find out what they have, but it might be easier and better to have them set up two policies, one for each, in case it changes on their computer.

    1. Hi! Thanks for pointing that out. Even when Microsoft “rebranded” the product to “OneDrive”, they didn’t immediately change the name of the program. your comments are duly noted, and I have (hopefully) corrected the article to reflect the current situation.

  5. This is fantastic – thanks so much for taking the time to post this.

    1. Thank You. You’re welcome.

  6. Thanks for this, but unfortunately it is not working for me. I can see the QoS rule which is set for 80kb/s, but using the Asus Network iControl app I can still see onedrive.exe merrily churning between 130-500 kb/s. I ran a gpupdate, restarted and still observe the same thing.

    1. I have the same problem as above. I made the changes in Group Policy, but they do not impact the speed at which OneDrive sends data over the network. I’m using a WIFI connection in my house, not a cable, but I don’t think this should matter. My laptop only has WIFI.

      Ken

      1. Using the above method and also adding the “let me fix it myself” section from the MS link to my registry worked for me on Windows 10. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2733528

    2. Thanks for all the feedback. I’ll try and test this out again, just to make sure it is still current (as it’s possible Microsoft has changed something). But, we have recently blocked OneDrive completely on our network for security reasons, so it might be tricky to get to the bottom of this one.

  7. The Group Policy didn’t work for me either. I’m on Windows 10 with all current hotfixes and patches. I’m using Task Manager Performance Tab to monitor my network traffic. I’m seeing upload speeds of around 2 Mbps even though I have the Group Policy specifying 500 Kbps. I even did a reboot and redid the test, no luck. Saturating my upload speed causes 1000+ ms latency to my Internet Provider Router and thus impacts download speed also. :-(.

    Ken

    1. You must use the correct unit of measurement. It’s in KBps. Notice the capital B. This means KB/s. I know….very misleading.

      1. Thanks Paul, well spotted! 😀

Leave a comment